Torn Apart

I’m sensitive to triggers. Most of us are. I was triggered by friends I had with eating disorders last year. I kept my mouth shut to how much it was killing me though. I should have said something. Well, I said something twice. Once was something that wasn’t really that big of a deal, I was just angry and I told my therapist. She didn’t tell anyone what I said but I was afraid of her thinking I was crazy and so involved in my eating disorder if I told her all the things that were triggering me. No one else seemed bothered by what was happening, by the things people were saying, except I was dying inside. But everyone else was fine with everything, I must be crazy. If I’m triggered by this so much, by something that no one else is triggered by, I must be crazy. You are not crazy! If something upsets you, it upsets you. If you can’t handle it, you can’t handle it. It’s ok to tell the person who is hurting you, or telling someone that someone else is hurting you.

Leave a Reply

