Random acts of kindness thank you notes part 3 (remembering my name edition)

I met this woman in Colorado for treatment. We both bonded over how we were from the same city. she left long before me and I was really, really upset when she left. I was always so sad there but when she was around her humor and her kindness brightened my day. she was a lot older than me so she felt like the mother I needed and missed so much while i was there. Then, a little less than a year later, we were both in treatment again. We never got to say goodbye to each other. I remember only knowing her for probably a week or a little more. I saw her and I knew exactly who she was, sadly though, I had a name placed for her, but the wrong one. I didn’t say anything to her because I didn’t think she’d remember me. It was so long ago for such a short time. She sat next to me at group and I got the courage and I was just going to ask her if she went to denver for treatment last year. As soon as I looked at her she said, “Are you sydney!?” Firstly I was so excited that she remembered me and that we could continue our relationship where we left off…me adoring her. she gave me a hug and then that’s when it hit me. she remembered my name after barely knowing me and such a long time ago. She reminded me of her name and I was completely off in my head. I miss her so much again.

Leave a Reply

