Follow my path to loving your hair

Take this from someone who has hated her hair for a long time. I  used to  be very insecure about it. I hated the color so I dyed it, and then finally I embraced my natural color and dyed it back. I found the beauty in my natural color and was desperate for it back despite hating it before. There are ways to find the beauty in your hair but you also might need to combine it with things. I think about embracing blonde hair now but only when it looks a certain way. For me, I saw a picture of someone with blonde hair and dark lipstick. So, that’s when, if I had blonde hair, I put on dark lipstick. Now, I love my brown hair when I am dressed in my favorite clothes. They just look like they flow together.  I love red hair with bright red lipstick. I love black hair with pink lipstick. This all might sound so strange, but these colors together is one of the ways I found the beauty in all colors of hair. You just need to be open minded and creative and try to find someone with your hair color and look at different ways of wearing it or what they are wearing with it. I just got this concept when I saw someone with blonde hair and dark lipstick. I plan to combine this with other aspects of my life. You can find the beauty in everything by itself, without needing extra things, such as lipstick, but it is a start to being confident. Like I have said before, I like extremely curly, frizzy hair because it reminds me of a doll, but I have straight hair. I came to embrace it by seeing how it laid on my favorite outfit and how curly hair might not look as amazing as I see my straight hair with it. This opened up a doorway to loving my hair even without that outfit on. This is because this moment, of seeing my hair in this light, opened my mind to this possibility that my natural hair can give me this kind of self-esteem in it. I don’t normally like to speak of physical beauty, as it causes so many problems for me but the problems in of themselves mean that I probably need to begin talking about my progress in this. I don’t like needing to feel beautiful because it reinforces the fact that it seems that society needs you to be beautiful. However, it never hurts to love yourself, no matter what pieces of yourself that is.

2 thoughts on “Follow my path to loving your hair

  1. ~~ “I don’t like needing to feel beautiful because it reinforces the fact that it seems that society needs you to be beautiful.” ~~ Make yourself look beautiful to what you believe beautiful is to you!

    I love my hair! Especially now that I am healthy again it looks so much better. I am not one to colour her hair too often. Rose gold occasionally. I do it because it is fun to do. And I like having fun! I had curly hair a few years ago and I could not straighten it fast enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

