Speak Out

This is  response to a wordpress challenge. https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/speak-out/. Memories alone can show the blueprints to worthiness. This time, this memory shows me the worthiness in positivity. This post is also about stigma I feel towards positivity. Yes, some people judge me for being positive and it hurt. It took the smile from my face that was supposed to be there for good. I am a positive person but some people get annoyed with positivity. I’ve had my positivity really be described as annoying as recently as a few months ago. I blogged about it awhile ago but it still bothers me. It bothers me that my laughter made me embarrassed after being called out in front of everyone. This sounds weird right? Why would someone call out someone who is just trying to be positive like they are doing something so wrong? Well, I have been looked down upon for it quite a few times. So I decided to share a story about my favorite memory of being positive in hopes to show how lovely positivity can be. I went to a doctor and this woman was taking my blood months ago. Her positivity and my own made for a day that makes me smile. She smiled as soon as I walked in and was so polite. To the point where I miss her and I’ve only known her for less than an hour. This was months ago and I remember her. I decided to joke around with her and we talked about my dog and actually had a fun,happy time in those 15 minutes. She said to me, “You’re funny. When are you coming back next so we can laugh?” I barely knew her, yet our positivity made us want to know each other. It made her want to know me and me to know her. Being happy should not be looked upon as fake or annoying. Not just her though. Everyone I’ve met who is positive I want to be friends with forever. Being funny is a joy especially with all the different ways of being funny. Positivity is worthy and don’t feel ashamed like I have in the past for smiling. It is perfectly okay to be positive. I know this might be a strange post as it seems to be what most people want in  friends these days, someone positive, but I have been in the opposite situation and it really hurts.
Speak Out

5 thoughts on “Speak Out

  1. People will always find a reason to complain about something. The key is not to let their words get you down. It is happiness that makes the world bearable. Being in a positive mindset enhances the ability to smile, to laugh and embrace the warmth of life. For those people who try to bring you down for being a positive, happy person…

    …well, I’d say they’re not really worth your undivided attention. Live on, live well, live happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

