Blueprints to being okay with going to therapy

I used to be ashamed of going to therapy like I believe a lot of people are, but now I am so extremely grateful for everything that I have learned. And this is not only because it helped me live a better life and everything therapy does for an individual…but because of going to therapy itself…I love myself for it. When most people think of going to therapy, they don’t think of going to therapy for the experience or think of going about and telling everyone how much they love themselves just for the act of going to therapy rather than the outcome itself. Many people just go to therapy for the outcome, which I obviously understand. But for me I finally found the beauty in the act of going to therapy rather than just the outcome. You can love what your soul became when you emerged from therapy but you can also love that fact that you went even if you aren’t completely cured from your ailments. You don’t have to look at your recovered self in your actions and wish, “I wish I was born this way,” or “I wish I could have gotten well on my own.” You can be okay with needing help and the things you learned along the way. Finding this kind of intelligence about mental health through my treatment and therapy journey has made things so much clearer in my head. I believe that therapy showed me my intelligence. Without being born with mental health struggles, I wouldn’t have wanted to learn about my brain. But I was forced to learn about it when my mental health deteriorated. I feel that I learned so much that I can speak intelligently about my own experiences, how I got well and can now see clearly what I believe is right and wrong. I know a lot about the brain and therapy skills now that I can speak of them with intelligence and say how much it worked because of how far gone I was in my eating disorder and managed to bounce back. Going to therapy I didn’t just learn to begin getting better, I learned like a student how to use my own opinions on the world and be able to express them and add my newfound therapy intelligence to my opinions. So be okay with yourself just for going to therapy every time you enter that room even if you still have negative thoughts every single day. Even if I was still trapped in my brain right now, I would be happy with what I have learned, even if I don’t have a desire to go to school to be a therapist.

16 thoughts on “Blueprints to being okay with going to therapy

  1. This is written with such poignant, powerful truth behind it. Brava to you for allowing yourself to be vulnerable. I, too, had been in that all-too-familiar shame cycle regarding therapy/treatment. It’s amazing what happens when we shift from shame to curiosity about ourselves and what we value. Beautifully said.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Therapy is never anything to be ashamed of. It can be nice to “rent a friend” for an hour or so. Besides, if you find it to be helpful in your growth then I am all for it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a beautiful thing to find. It’s amazing what those dark places can reveal about ourselves. We truly have so much greatness to us. It just often times goes unnoticed. I’m happy you were able to find that self awareness of how great you are!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I need to overcome a determination to not be one of those people that need therapy. *serious face*
    Just had a thought – I wonder if a therapist could help me with an aversion to my perceptions around the stigma associated with having therapy. *smiling to myself, but this is serious too*
    Sorry to intrude.
    Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No intrusion at all:) I think that everyone should go to therapy whether they think they need it or not. It has helped me in places of my life that I wasn’t even looking help for. Just think of it as something everyone has the capacity to do just to better themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I tend to agree that everyone should get help. I think that it should be part of normal growing up … maybe teachers and parents should be trained in this. Or there should be a special series of class that teach us what life’s about – and not just from the pov of the teaching of a specific religion.
        It’s a deep subject – thanks for sharing and listening.
        Kindness – Robert.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. yes teachers should most definitely talk about therapy needing to be something to not be ashamed of. When I first got diagnosed with anxiety, no one spoke of it so I hid it with shame. Now everyone is so open about it and it helps.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The more open we are to something, the more it normal it becomes. There’s respect in that practice, but also the danger of us slipping into (and staying in) something that we need to get out of.
        Acceptance needs to be handled carefully so that it doesn’t perpetuate harmful states.
        Kindness – Robert.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

