Beauty in my major

When I was getting ready to go to college I was depressed and didn’t care at all about my future. Now I am so excited for my future that I got depressed about having a major I don’t like, but have channeled my excitement and turned my excitement on my major and found the beauty in it. My major is marketing and I always wanted to do things with animals. I wanted to be a marine biologist and I was going to go to college for that but I ended up being so depressed I literally just clicked a major and went on with my life. I knew nothing of marketing. I didn’t care that I wasn’t interested, because I wasn’t interested in anything. So instead of sulking about my major I decided to channel it. Here are the reasons why I found marketing to be a great major. If you have chosen something you regret, you can find a way to love it.

  1. The potential to have a job in a “the office” type setting-Being so close to others and being able to have strange work relationships like from the show the office. (Yes this show is actually possible-I have these kinds of relationships at my current job but I’d like it to stay that way in a new job. Plus, in an office setting I’ll be able to enjoy it more because the job I have now is very physically demanding and it makes me too tired to care as much as I could about how funny my co-workers are)
  2. Being an artist/scientist-I need to be creative to grab people’s attention while finding out what will grab their attention.
  3. Honestly, I see so much beauty in the business type. Dressing in business clothes, being strong and getting things done. The problem for me is that I’m not the business type. I can only pretend to be the business-type but then I’ll feel like a fraud next to these amazing people. If you are a businessman or woman, you can love yourself so much because of how impressive you are. Going to interviews and working your way up and giving presentations is incredibly hard. Yesterday I almost didn’t apply for a job because they said you need to be ok with presentations. That has always been my worst fear. Well, I thought to myself, “If I want to be as amazing as I view actual business people, I need to apply to this job and fight through my fear of presentations.”
  4. I also like the idea of a cute little cubicle.
6 thoughts on “Beauty in my major

  1. I like this! ๐Ÿ™‚Since you have a degree in marketing and you love animals so much, could you perhaps work at securing a position with a company that works with animals? I am sure there are corporations out there that need people with marketing training and animal knowledge/experience. Check out some of the web sites that assist in securing such jobs. I would also consider posting on the likes of LinkedIn and other similar professional sites. It certainly could not hurt to start forging connections in this area. Go for it! You may surprise yourself at what you can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I actually was thinking about working for an animal company with my degree but I wanted some experience first. I also have just been making flyers for my current boss and I am having so much fun with it! Making flyers taught me to like it even more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The thing about presentations is preparation. if you can stand up knowing what you are going to talk about it is a whole lot easier. Sometimes of course this isn’t possible, in which case most peopel will accept that you haven’t had preparation time and so should you. The thing I tend to do is talk too fast and then I just get all tied up, so watch your speaking speed. The more you do it, the easier it is so the only way to get better is to make yourself do it. That what I have done in the past. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

